Kistorium and the alternatives
How Kistorium compares with five other tools. We checked each one on its own website in October 2026.
| Kistorium | Scribe | Guidde | Tango | Loom | Trainual | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What one recording gives you | A narrated video and a written guide with screenshots | A written guide with screenshots. It can also play as a video. | A video, a written guide, or both | A written guide with screenshots. Pro adds a video version. | A video. The Business + AI plan can also write a step by step doc. | Not made from a recording. You write or upload your training. |
| Is the video your real screen? | Yes. The real recording, every click. | No. It captures screenshots, not moving video. | Partly. Each step can be a still or a short clip. | No. It captures screenshots, not moving video. | Yes | Only videos you upload or embed |
| Voice-over | Made for you from the steps. You do not need to talk. | An AI voice-over when the guide plays as a video | An AI voice-over, in many voices and languages | Narration on the Pro video version | Your own voice. AI voice is listed as coming soon. | None listed |
| Records programs outside the browser | Yes, any program on a Windows PC | Yes, on Pro and up | Yes, on Business and up | Yes, on Pro and up | Yes, with the desktop app | Not a recorder |
| Record on a Mac | No. Recording needs a Windows PC. Watching and editing work anywhere. | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not a recorder |
| Longest recording | Three minutes | Not stated on their site | 10 minutes, 30 on Enterprise | Not stated on their site | 5 minutes free, up to 6 hours on Business | Not a recorder |
| Blur private details | Yes, on every guide, free ones too | Pro and up | Pro and up | Pro and up | Paid plans, in the Chrome extension only | Not stated on their site |
| Download or print | Download the video. Print or save a PDF. | PDF, Word and more, on Pro and up | MP4, PDF and more, on Pro and up | PDF, Markdown and HTML, on Pro and up | MP4 download on paid plans | Print to PDF |
| How you pay | Buy a pack once. No subscription. Packs never expire. | Subscription per seat. Free plan. | Subscription per creator. Free plan. | Subscription per user. Free plan. | Subscription per creator. Free plan. | Subscription. Prices by demo, plus a one-time setup fee. |
Our packs start at NZ$29 for 6 guides, paid once in New Zealand dollars, and your first five guides are free. Their prices change often and differ by country, so check each pricing page below.
What they do better
Scribe
- A free plan with no limit on guides.
- Records on a Mac as well as Windows.
- Exports to Word, HTML and Markdown on paid plans.
Guidde
- Faster. In our own test of the same task on 8 October 2026, Guidde built its guide in about two minutes. Ours took about ten.
- It writes its own title and summary for each guide.
- Many voices and languages, and recordings up to 10 minutes.
- Can cost less if you make a lot of guides. You pay a monthly price for each person who makes guides, not for each guide.
Tango
- Shows the steps inside the apps your staff already use.
- Reports who viewed and finished each guide, on Pro.
- Records on a Mac as well as Windows.
Loom
- Long recordings: up to 6 hours on Business.
- Your own voice and camera, for a personal message.
- Records on a Mac as well as Windows.
Trainual
- A whole training manual: tests and quizzes, completion tracking, e-signatures and an org chart.
- We do none of those. Kistorium makes the guides; it is not a training course system.